South Central College

Faculty Services
Welcome Faculty
South Central College adjunct and full-time faculty can access a wide range of services and resources at the Library. This page describes these services and resources, and how to take advantage of them. Feel free to stop by your campus Librarian's office, or call, or email library@southcentral.edu with any questions.

Welcome!

Welcome to the SCC Library.  We have materials that support your curriculum but hope you will use our library for recreational use as well.  We have a large DVD collection of films, audiobooks, and over 35,000 volumes including fiction, non-fiction, and graphic novels.  We welcome purchase recommendations and encourage suggestions, please feel free to contact us.  Below is some information about the SCC Library that you may find helpful.
 
Library Staff

Both North Mankato and Faribault campuses each have their own library. You can reach us all for questions at library@southcentral.edu.
 
Heather Biedermann, NM Librarian                         heather.biedermann@southcentral.edu
Ala Garlinska, FB Librarian                                      ala.garlinska@southcentral.edu
Kim DeMarce, NM Library Manager                        kim.demarce@southcentral.edu
Kelly Howell-Rouchka, FB Library Manager            kelly.howell-rouchka@southcentral.edu
 
Circulation
Library cards – which are also our campus ID cards - are available for all SCC faculty and staff.  ID card pictures are taken at the Circulation Desk at each campus library.  Faculty and staff may check out most materials for three weeks. Some items have shorter checkout times, so be sure to look at the return date given to you at the circulation desk.  Materials may be renewed online in the OneSearch catalog, under Login in the top right, or in-person at the SCC Library circulation desk.

Contact your Librarian or try AskMN to chat with a librarian 24/7!

Using Other Libraries: SCC is part of the MNPals network of libraries. Don't forget that your community public library also has tons of resources that are available to you for free.
 
Reserves
Instructors may place books, articles, and media on reserve status in the library for a 2-hour in-library use, or 24-hour to 48-hour outside library use.  Stop in and talk to library manager or librarian to set this up, or email us at library@southcentral.edu.  Please allow 24 hours for processing.  Items must comply with copyright, see below for more information.
 
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
During the Coronavirus Quarantine – there will be no physical Interlibrary Loan. Watch the Library Homepage for updates and to find out when service is returned. Items not found in the SCC Library collection may be requested from another library.  Items can be requested directly from the library catalog or, in the case of articles, directly from one of our databases. Use your StarID and StarID password for requests.  Articles are sent directly to your email and can usually take from 1 to 3 days to arrive; print materials can normally take up to one week and are sent to the library, you'll be notified via email when an item is ready for pick up.  Note that the loan period for an ILL item is set by the lending library, not the SCC Library.  Please ask a library staff member if you need assistance placing an ILL request or if you have questions about the loan period or renewals.
 
Library Instruction
The SCC Librarians are available to instruct classes on library research, which includes use of library resources and subscription databases.  We can come to your class, bring the class to the library for a tour, or work with you to make a virtual presentation. Please contact us at library@southcentral.edu to schedule dates and times for sessions.  Signing up early in the semester is recommended, as our calendar fills up quickly.  Instructors must be present during the library session.

Please refer students to either the Library Research Tutorial Modules https://southcentral.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=LRT
or check out the Where Do I Start? Library Tutorials and Guide page here: https://southcentral.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=Guides

We will also work with instructors for individual instruction on using our resources or web searching techniques.  If you would like a Research Guide created for your class, please contact us.  Research Guides can be found on the library website or at: http://southcentral.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/index.php
We also have a handout that covers the basics of the Library Instruction at: Library Resources and Instruction Handout
We can provide research assistance to your students in a variety of modes which include by phone (507-389-7245), email (library@southcentral.edu, zoom meetings, or using the AskMN 24/7 chat feature (http://www.askmn.org/).

Library Handouts:
Library Handout doc
CRAAP Test Worksheet pdf
 
Library Homepage http://southcentral.edu/Library/scc-library-home.html
Access SCC Collections, Databases, Research Guides, and Library Research Tutorials from our website.
 
Create Links to Database Articles:
For a complete list of SCC database offerings, visit http://southcentral.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/databases.php
You can create links to specific articles from library databases and include the link in D2L, a website, or email.  Each database has a slightly different way to get the link.  SCC Library has setup all the database content with an EZProxy link, so all SCC students, faculty, and staff will have off campus access to resources using their StarID and password. If you need help adding these into your D2L class please contact the Center for Teaching and Learning and Excellence.  
 
Database Tutorials
Vendor provided video tutorials for SCC Library databases.

Physical Materials Checkout for Faculty During COVID-19 Closure
  • Email librarian to ask for checkout and provide title
  • When response email is received have it ready to show GMW
  • Ask GMW for access into the library (you might have to check in to a location at SCC when entering the building) This step is to ensure that the library will be cleaned and relocked
  • Find book
  • Email librarian to let them know that you have the resource
  • Resource will then be checked out to faculty remotely

Open Educational Resources
Here is a link to recommended OER ResourcesOpenEducationalResourcesOERandOpendoraatSCC1.pdf pdf
 
Copyright Guidelines
These are the official guidelines for Minnesota State employees.  Copyright Guidelines    
For copyright clearance permission to use an article or book chapter in D2L or in class, please see the South Central College bookstore.  They have the Copyright Clearance account on campus.
For additional information regarding copyright for specific materials, please see the MnState IP/Copyright Tools and Forms page.
 
General guidelines for Seeking videos (DVD or Streaming)
A SCC Librarian will determine if the video is available for purchase in DVD format or available online via a free or subscription streaming service. If the video in question is the instructor's personal copy, the library can add it to our reserve collection for the semester.
If a library-owned title is available on DVD or through a streaming service, the library will determine if funds allow for its purchase.  If available via one of the library's streaming services the librarian will notify the instructor.
If it is not available for purchase in DVD format, the librarian will assist the instructor in locating the contact information. The faculty member will contact the copyright holder and request permission to convert the DVD to streaming format for educational use.
The response of the copyright holder needs to be documented in writing via email, letters, faxes, etc.
One of these outcomes will result from the query:
 The copyright holder gives permission. Deliver the copyright permission in writing to the Center for Teaching and Learning Excellence Department and request that the DVD be converted to Streaming.  Make sure to retain a copy of the copyright permission to keep in your files.  CTLE will retain a copy of the copyright permission with your request to convert to streaming.  CTLE will return both to the faculty member.
The DVD is not available on streaming and the copyright holder will not give authorization to make the conversion.  The conversion of the DVD is not possible.
It is impossible to discern who the copyright holder is e.g. the company is defunct.  In this case, it may be sufficient to have made a good faith effort to locate a copyright holder and having on file sufficient evidence copies of letters and emails, return postal receipts, etc. that a “reasonable effort” has been made to located the copyright holder in a reasonable period of time.  The final decision to authorize to convert the DVD will be made by CTLE.
 
*Adapted from Inver Hills Library; https://inverhills.lib.minnstate.edu/subjects/guide.php?subject=FacInfo
 
Ask A Librarian
SPRING Virtual Hours:
Monday - Friday 8 am - 4 pm
 
Email: library@southcentral.edu
Phone: 507-389-7245
AskMN - 24/7 librarian assistance: www.askmn.org


Powered by SubjectsPlus

Faibault Campus
1225 Third Street SW
Faribault, MN 55021
Toll Free: 800-442-0391

North Mankato
1920 Lee Boulevard
North Mankato, MN 56003
Local: 507-389-7200
Toll Free 800-722-9359

South Central Online
Web: online.southcentral.edu
Email: online@southcentral.edu
Login: Desire2Learn

For TTY communication, contact the Minnesota Relay Service at 7-1-1 or 1-800-627-3529.
SCC is an affirmative action equal opportunity employer/educator. Non Discrimination Policy
Home  |   Current Students Sitemap
Copyright © 1995-2019 South Central College . All Rights Reserved
Member of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities System